Tags

, , , , , , , ,

For the record, these aren’t in any particular order. I think there are so many facets to each of these princesses that trying to arrange them into a neat little list would be difficult. So here we go.

First in my list is Sophie, The Countess of Wessex (formally known as The Princess Edward, Countess of Wessex). She can be a bit of an unknown, seeing as she’s not one of the super-popular members of the British Royal Family. I mostly see her at royal events on the continent, as she and Prince Edward are usually the ones sent to represent the Queen. However, every so often, I hear from Sophie or about her and she comes across as extremely likable. She once visited a school, where a young girl told her that a princess was going to be coming to visit. Sophie is said to have replied, “I’ll let you in on a secret. I am her.” Beyond that, she gave an interview to the crew behind the recent documentary “Our Queen,” and confessed her nervousness before big state events. I don’t always like to think of royals as “just like us,” but her self-effacing style made me like her very much. In the fashion stakes, Sophie has been ramping up her game recently (possibly in a bid to make sure she isn’t overshadowed by younger, more stylish relatives/in-laws… who knows), and I enjoy seeing her try out new styles and looking fabulous while doing so.

Photo credit Grand-Ducal Court / Guy Wolff

Next is Crown Princess Victora of Sweden. She seems to genuinely care about her country, and you can tell she loves her family. Hers was the first royal wedding I watched after “becoming” a royal-watcher, and the fact that she and Prince Daniel were so obviously in love was wonderful to watch. Beyond that, she’s beaten an eating disorder, and deals with dyslexia, but doesn’t let that stop her. She just seems like a very lovely sort. There’s also this:

Source and owner unknown.

People of Sweden, your future Queen is photobombing her husband. I love it.

