Tags

, , , ,

Photo copyright Cour grand-ducale / Christian Aschman

This is a good weekend for a party. Guillaume, the Hereditary Grand Duke of Luxembourg (the small-ish grand duchy nestled between Belgium, France, and Germany) married his Belgian fiancée Countess Stéphanie de Lannoy in a civil service today; a religious service will follow tomorrow (in most European nations, civil marriages are required, and religious services are optional*). Luxembourgish television network RTL is providing coverage, and lucky me – coverage of the religious wedding begins just after midnight my time. (You can see your time zone here.)

I must confess that the Luxembourgish wedding snuck up on me – I completely forgot about it until yesterday! My parents are celebrating their 30th wedding anniversary with a vow renewal ceremony tonight, and tomorrow is my dad’s birthday, so we’ve been busy getting things together. I think the Luxembourgers are going to have a bigger bash, but I will make sure we’re going to have just as good a time. 😀

You can read more about the civil ceremony here, or see a few videos here. (I can’t find anything of the ceremony itself yet, but I think it’s cool that they did a walkabout right after leaving City Hall.) Apparently, now that they’re civilly married, Stéphanie is a Princess of Luxembourg, but a decree will have to be issued after the religious wedding before she will be Hereditary Grand Duchess.

Félicitatiounen (Congratulations) to the happy couple!

*I kind of like the idea of two separate ceremonies – why not make a weekend of it?

