Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

First of all, yesterday morning, Buckingham Palace sent out a press release saying that Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh is improving, though he will probably spend a few more days in the hospital until he is well. I hope he will be able to join his family before too long.

As the wise Calvin once said, “It’s always such a letdown after a holiday.” Or in this case, there’s always such a letdown after a once-in-a-lifetime four-day weekend crammed with special events and celebrations. Now that it’s over (and I’ve finally had time to watch everything I intended to watch), I feel ready to wrap everything up properly.

The direct line of succession, from left: Queen Elizabeth II; Prince Philip; Camilla, Duchess of Cornwall; Prince Charles; Prince William (behind Charles); Catherine, Duchess of Cambridge; Prince Harry. Photo by Andrew Wragg (CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)

It was so great to see such an effusive and enthusiastic outpour of love to the Queen by the people of the United Kingdom and the Commonwealth at large. In America, we don’t have anybody like the Queen; our politics are getting progressively more mean-spirited and divisive, and we don’t have a unifying figure that we can all agree on. Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate all that my forefathers fought and died for, and I’m glad we gained our independence, but at the same time I wish that we had someone that was neither on the left nor the right side of the aisle, but out of the room completely. To put it shortly, I don’t know of anyone that would incite that many Americans to stand in the rain for 4 hours to see a boat parade, even a Guinness World Record-holding boat parade. (To any Brits who attended or sailed in the pageant and may be reading this, you have my admiration, and I hope that you haven’t caught a cold.)  It was also especially heartwarming to hear 70,000 people chant Philip’s name after Charles made mention of his absence at the concert.

Look just to the left of the gold statue in the center, and you can see 50,000 people crammed into the Mall. Photo by the UK Defence Ministry (CC BY-NC 2.0)

Speaking of the concert, I enjoyed most of it, however as an American anglophile, I can’t help but feel as though I’ve been gypped. British comedians Rob Brydon and Jimmy Carr were two of the emcees during the concert, and I think they’re hilarious, but the American telecast cut them (and many of the musical acts) out in favor of an heavily-edited version (the three-hour concert edited down to two, with commercials) hosted by Katie Couric. (No offense to Ms. Couric, but a thoroughly British event like the Diamond Jubilee of the Queen of the United Kingdom is not a time that I want to be hearing from an American commentator.) Also, in light of the wave of complaints aimed at the BBC for their “lamentable” coverage, I don’t have anything to compare to what I saw, so I can’t say much. I will say that I felt the camerawork often left much to be desired, though I do appreciate BBC America for offering a live simulcast of events.

Regardless, this was a great weekend for a girl who loves the British Monarchy and Queen Elizabeth in particular. At the concert, Charles declared that his “Mummy” made Britons proud to be British. May I add that she makes some of us wish we could be British, too.

Congratulations to Her Majesty on reaching sixty years on the throne. She remains a person of deep faith, loyalty, kindness, and dedication, and an example to us all. May she continue to enjoy a long and happy reign.

A thank-you message from the Jubilee Girl:

Courtesy the British Monarchy

Next up: 50 days to the London Olympics!

