Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

As anyone who reads this blog is probably aware, today marks the first wedding anniversary of William and Catherine, The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge. Since I live 8 hours behind London, the royal wedding happened for us in the wee hours of April 29th, and my sisters and I stayed up all night watching all the coverage. (For those who want to relive the event, you can watch official royal footage here.) So naturally this seemed like the perfect occasion for a RepliKate post.

Like so many other girls (I’m assuming), I wanted to dress like Kate for Halloween last year, but trying to find a white dress in October is not always the easiest task, even in California. I did, however, manage to find the jewelry.

Here’s a good shot of Kate in her jewelry:

Kate at the altar

Photo by Jens Rost (CC BY-SA 2.0) Click to see a larger version.

And here’s my cheap knockoffs (might as well be honest, right?):

Photo by me.

According to the official royal wedding website, Kate wore a Cartier “halo” tiara that was lent to her by the Queen. It was originally purchased just before King George VI acceded to the throne in 1936 for his wife Elizabeth (later The Queen Mother), but was given to then-Princess Elizabeth as a birthday gift. Kate’s earrings were a gift from her parents, complete with a diamond pavé acorn to represent the family coat of arms, which was granted so that the bride would have a coat of arms to combine with William’s.

My jewelry is from Icing. Unfortunately, you can no longer purchase these pieces, though the last time I looked, they did still have replicas of the sapphire engagement ring. (Yes, I have one, but that will come later.)

Congratulations, Your Royal Highnesses, and here’s to a lifetime together!

